Week 12 Link: People in Stories

I’ve always wondered why I gravitate towards writing stories about Caucasian people with typical white names who speak English. Especially since I’m Chinese, have a non-traditional name, and my first language is Cantonese.

I admit that the headline “You can’t do that! Stories have to be about White people” caught my attention. After reading it, I have to say the article brings up many points of merit.

It’s almost like I’ve been conditioned to think the world revolves around a particular group of people and no one else. This way of thinking perpetuates a lack of diversity, not just in literature but in every discipline.

…if we hear only a single story about another person or country, we risk a critical misunderstanding.

Speak your mind

